Jump to the main content block

2015 SATU Steering Committee Meeting


Introduction  |  Participants  |  Program   |  Conclusions   |  Photos  |

► Introduction

On November 26th and 27th, 14 representatives from 16 Steering Committee Member universities, located in nine countries, assembled at the Institut Teknologi Bandung (ITB). ITB was established in 1920 and is the oldest technology-oriented university in Indonesia. In the Steering Committee Meeting, the International Secretariat reported on the activities of this year. The Steering Committee representatives exchanged their insights on topics pertaining to the SATU Presidents’ Forum’s future development, including the implementation of the SATU biennial membership fee, joint research center among members, the proposed alignment of the university museum, the SATU Joint Research Scheme (JRS), and the 2016 SATU calendar.


The session for this year focused on the “Panel on Higher Education in Indonesia.” The three speakers included Prof. Kadarsah Suryadi, the Rector of Institut Teknologi Bandung, Prof. Dr. Dodi Sudiana, the Director for Partnership of Universitas Indonesia, and Prof. Dr. Djoko Santoso, the Vice Rector for Academic and Student Affairs of Universitas Airlangga.


► Participants



Name of Representative(s)


Universitas Airlangga

Prof. Dr. Djoko Santoso

Vice Rector

Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

Dr. Sushil

Deputy Director

University of Malaya

Dr. Noorsaadah Abd Rahman

Deputy Vice Chancellor for Research & Innovation

Universiti Malaya

Dr. Tan Hsiao Wei


Nanyang Technological University

Dr. Lalit Goel

Director, Office of Global Education and Mobility

University of the Philippines

Dr. Aaron Joseph L. Villaraza

Deputy Director

Chulalongkorn University

Dr. Kua Wongboonsin


Prince of Songkla University

Dr. Kewalin Thammasitboon

Assistant President for International Affairs

Vietnam National University, Hanoi

Dr. Le Quan

Vice President

Vietnam National University, Ho Chi Minh City

Prof. Duong Anh Duc

Vice President

Vietnam National University, Ho Chi Minh City

Dr. Le Thanh Long


Asia University

Dr. Lin, Feng-Tyan

Vice President

Universiti Malaya Sabah

Dr. Shahril Yusof

Deputy Vice Chancellor

Universiti Brunei Darussalam

Dr. Malai Haniti

Deputy Director of Research

National Cheng Kung University

Dr. Huey-Jen Jenny Su

Chairman of SATU Presidents’ Forum

Dr. Cheng-Hung Huang

Secretary General of SATU International Secretariat

Dr. Yueh-Min Ray Huang

Executive Secretary of SATU International Secretariat



► Program


Thursday, November 26




Welcome Dinner

Venue: Hotel Sawunggaling, Bandung

Friday, November 27

Venue: 2nd-floor meeting room, LABTEK VIII, ITB Campus, Ganesha no 10, Bandung






Formal Welcomes


Prof. Kadarsah Suryadi, Rector of Institut Teknologi Bandung

Prof. Huey-Jen Jenny Su, President of National Cheng Kung University and Chairperson of SATU Presidents’ Forum






Steering Committee Meeting

Chairperson Prof. Huey-Jen Jenny Su

Self-introduction of delegates

Report - Summary of 2014-2015 SATU Activities

Prof. Yueh-Min Ray Huang

Executive Secretary of SATU International Secretariat

Vice President for International Affairs of National Cheng Kung University

Discussion and motions


Official Photographs


Tea Break


Session: Panel on Higher Education in Indonesia


Prof. Kadarsah Suryadi, Rector of Institut Teknologi Bandung

Prof. Dr. Dodi Sudiana, Director for Partnership of Universitas Indonesia

Prof. Dr. Djoko Santoso, Vice Rector for Academic and Student Affairs of Universitas Airlangga




Local tour to Bamboo Village/Saung Ujo (Dinner included)


Return to Hotel



► Conclusions


The 2015 SATU Steering Committee Meeting, convened at the Institut Teknologi Bandung on November 26 and 27, 2015, reached conclusions on various subjects. To view the meeting conclusions, please see the meeting minutes.

PDF Annex_2015 Meeting Minutes.pdf


► Photos

Click Num: